Excerpt 1: Autumn Leaves

Here is the first sample of my written work. I am compiling a collection of prose poems at the moment; my goal is 50 successful pieces and I now have almost 60 to choose from. As the title of this post suggests, this excerpt comes from a piece I’ve written that was inspired by the song “Autumn Leaves” by Edith Piaf– a beautiful song. If you haven’t heard it I suggest you check it out.

Enjoy and thank you all for your lovely support so far!

“… I watch the red and golden leaves drift by my window. They dance and twirl on the breeze, ignorant of their fall or indifferent to it. If only you’d have let me down this easily too. I fell like a stone when you let me go, like a stone dropped into the clear, still waters of a lake. I passed from one consciousness to another, falling at two different paces, through two different realities, to face two very different fears. …”

I welcome any and all feedback. I recognize it is hard to give constructive critique on only a small piece of a prose poem, but if you have something to share, please do.

Ciao,

~Ines

Leave a comment